adalaj-stepwell column, vernelle noel, thinking insomniac, india, ahmedabad

Sketch of the entablature above a column at the Adalaj Stepwell in Ahmedabad, India

The sketch above is of the entablature of a column at the Adalaj Stepwell or Vav in Ahmedabad, India. The sculptures at the step well in Ahmedabad are very intricate! Elephants, flowers, they all adorn the vav. It is a beautiful place, and a feast for the eyes and the hands. While in India, I went to this vav, several times. It was the first place I would take friends and family when they came to visit. Down in the stepwell it is cool…very cool. The water level drops during the dry months as should be expected. I don’t think it is used anymore, at least that’s what I was told. I did a section through the vav, my perception of what a section through this marvel would look like. I will post it for you another time.
Article on the Adalaj Vav >>>

Modhera sun temple

Modhera Sun Temple, India

Rani ki Vav or Ranki Vav or the Queen's Stepwell

Patan Stepwell or Rani ki Vav or the Queen's Stepwell in Gujarat

Creative Commons License
This work by Vernelle Noel is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a comment