Photo Journal – Wednesday 11 May 2016

Posted: May 13, 2016 in Life, New York, Photo Journals, USA
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

vernelle noel, architecture, MIT, new york, williamsburg, beautiful, thinking insomniac

Today I wanted to get out the house to work. I messaged my friend Arlene and she suggested Williamsburg. She would be going there to work, so I decided to meet her there. This was my first time in Williamsburg I believe. I met her at a spot and we worked, then we went to get something to eat. We went to “Pies and Thighs” nearby, and the food was great! I didn’t take any photos, next time. Arlene had to leave for a meeting, so I got the food and met her at East River Bar, where the meeting would be. The photo above was taken in front of East River Bar.

vernelle noel, architecture, MIT, new york, williamsburg, beautiful, thinking insomniac

Beautiful Sunset

Arlene is my friend and former colleague from MIT. She is the fantastic “mind” behind MindRider. “MindRider is a helmet that tracks, in real time, how your rides, movement, and location engage your mind. The MindRider app maps your engagement, giving you new insight into your riding experience, and providing a unique resource for riding communities and street advocacy.” We ate then her colleagues started showing up for the meeting. Today, Dave, who takes great photos for the project would be taking some photos and I was lucky to be their muse. He took photos of me, Arlene, and another colleague riding bicycles with MindRider helmets on. It was fun!

vernelle noel, architecture, MIT, new york, williamsburg, beautiful, thinking insomniac

After my shots I took these beautiful shots of the sunset and the Williamsburg Bridge. Isn’t it lovely? After the meeting, it was time for me to go home. On my walk along Broadway, the restaurant at the corner of Broadway and Driggs St. was beautifully lit. Check the photos below.

vernelle noel, architecture, MIT, new york, williamsburg, beautiful, thinking insomniac

View from Broadway

vernelle noel, architecture, MIT, new york, williamsburg, beautiful, thinking insomniac

Look at the detailing and articulation visible with this lighting. Very dramatic!

Today was a great day. I got outside, got work done, spent time with my friend, had a great meal, and got some lovely photos.

Here are some additional links for MindRider. I encourage you to check it out.

http://mindriderhelmet.com/

http://mindriderdata.com/

Measuring Brainwaves to Make a New Kind of Bike Map for NYC

Leave a Reply

