Here’s my work from yesterday.

vern

Bouncing Ball

Here’s the code – https://github.com/vernellenoel/Algorithmic_Tectonics/blob/master/PracticeCoding/bouncing_ball/bouncing_ball.pde

vern

Nested Loop

Code – https://github.com/vernellenoel/Algorithmic_Tectonics/blob/master/PracticeCoding/colored_squares/colored_squares.pde

vern4

Nested Loop – Random  function used for color

vern2

Nested Loop

Code – https://github.com/vernellenoel/Algorithmic_Tectonics/blob/master/PracticeCoding/colored_squares_random/colored_squares_random.pde

In class yesterday we touched on functions and creating parametric objects with processing. This is no joke, describing a design (shape/ object) for a computer is pretty intense. You have to tell it EVERYTHING!

See the code for the parametized columns below – https://github.com/vernellenoel/Algorithmic_Tectonics/blob/master/PracticeCoding/parametric_column/parametric_column.pde

vern7 vern6 vern5 vern4 vern3 vern2 vern1

I have been reflecting on why I feel so confused. Give me a pen, tell me to design something, and I can describe what I want and what I imagine. Give me a computer, and tell me to design something with code and my creativity goes out the window. Why is this? I am thinking aloud here… I think maybe it’s because I don’t know the vocabulary, the language that I have to work it. It’s like someone telling me to write a sentence in German. If I do not know what English words translate into, I will not be able to. If I do not know the ways to use those German words, I will also be lost. So.. I think I need to spend some time learning the “vocabulary” of Processing.

Ideally I want to be able to imagine something I want to do, then using the vocabulary, function, and methods of Processing, get it done. Currently, that is not happening. So tonight, I will spend some time learning some “vocabulary”, i.e. methods in Processing. The structure I will always be working on, and the way to write these things. Pseudocode maybe? No joke, this is taking a lot of time.

Leave a Reply

