In January (while living in Singapore again) I noticed that every time I had lunch or dinner I would feel bloated, so I had to find out why. A friend of mine posted on Facebook that she was probably gluten intolerant and described her symptons which sounded exactly like mine! Eureka! I spoke with her and did some research. This new knowledge made me very aware of my diet and I began cooking all of my meals. This meant no more meals at hawker centers  for a while. I am a scientist after all and I had to test my variables to test my hypothesis. In the US this would not be anything special, but in Singapore where food and eating is a tourist attraction, this is quite a decision. I not only decided to cook my own food, but I am a designer at heart and I wanted to design my food. Whatever that meant. I started a blog documenting my culinary journey but never got time to post as often as I would have liked (http://theculinaryarchitect.wordpress.com/). After approximately 2 months I realized that I was sensitive to gluten.

Managing two blogs takes time, so in the future if and when I want to share my culinary delights I will do so here on Thinking Insomniac. Today I will share with you my post from February 19th on homemade protein bars since many of my friends always ask how I made it. Enjoy!

——–

Today I wanted to make protein bars. I had peanut butter that I did not even open as yet and wanted to make a healthy snack. I found this website (http://neilarey.com/) which had really fantastic workout routines, I loved the drawings, and saw that Neila Ray also had a recipe for a protein bar. I actually did my own take on it and sort of combines her protein bars recipe with her energy ballz recipe.

homemade protein bars, the culinary architect, vernelle noel, health, food

My ingredients – Whey protein, raisins, dried cranberries, dried apricots, peanut butter, oats, dried ginger

homemade protein bars, the culinary architect, vernelle noel, health, food

Raisins, dried cranberries and dried apricots

homemade protein bars, the culinary architect, vernelle noel, health, food

Coconut cream

homemade protein bars, the culinary architect, vernelle noel, health, food

Whey protein and peanut butter added to coconut cream

homemade protein bars, the culinary architect, vernelle noel, health, food

I then added the oat mixture I had (rolled oats, raisins, pistachio nuts, almonds, and more)… MIX. I didn’t have a mixer, so I used the natural mixer, my hand.

vern-dishes10-006

homemade protein bars, the culinary architect, vernelle noel, health, food

Looking good…

homemade protein bars, the culinary architect, vernelle noel, health, food

I then flattened the mixture out on a plate and cut it up into bars

homemade protein bars, the culinary architect, vernelle noel, health, food

I wrapped them in wax paper and placed them all in the refrigerator. I ended up with a lot of them! I think 35 of them.

If I am unable to have breakfast before leaving home on mornings I take one with me and have it to tide me over until lunch. They taste great! And my favorite part is the little surprise of ginger pieces that I get in mine. Mmmmm!!!

From http://theculinaryarchitect.wordpress.com/

Creative Commons License
This work by Vernelle Noel is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

