visual recipe, cou cou, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel, barbados, sketchblog

Visual Recipe - Cou Cou

Today’s Visual Recipe is Cou Cou, courtesy http://www.tasteslikehome.org. This week my blog focused on Barbados and cou cou and flying fish is the national dish of Barbados.  It is also a traditional dish in Trinidad and Tobago. I grew up eating cou cou, callaloo and stewed fish a lot at my grandmother’s. And when there was left over, she would fry it so I could have it as chips (cou cou fries) with ketchup. Yummm!! Grandmothers are the best things ever!

I love cou cou and encourage you to try it. If you are in Barbados have it with a Banks Beer. But the sauce is the icing on the cou cou cake I think. I love a lot of gravy on my food, so I drench my cou cou in fish sauce.. Slurp! If you do try it, let me know how it came out..

Link to recipe >>>

HAPPY FRIDAY!!!!

Follow me on Twitter!

Being in the moment is more important than refined output.

Creative Commons License
This work by Vernelle Noel is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Comments
  1. msveronicas says:

    Have to try this one for sure. And you’re right, Grandma’s are the BEST!

Leave a Reply

