Paris, France, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel

Architecture Sketch (2005) - Paris, France

I did this sketch of the Louvre Museum in Summer of 2005 during my back-packing adventure through Europe. This was done on my last day in Paris, before returning to the US. On this day, we did whatever we wanted to. I went to the park in front of the Louvre (Jardin des Tuileries). I pulled a chair, sat below a tree, sketched, fell asleep, had a snack, and fell asleep again. Ahhhh.. Like my uncle would say, “It was two-derful!

Jardin des Tuileries, vernelle noel, thinking insomniac

Jardin des Tuileries - Paris, France (View from my chair)

That evening Paris was alive with music. There were bands playing everywhere, street performances, spectators, the city was ALIVE! This is happiness I thought, and felt. That night my friends and I went to the Eiffel Tower to take in the celebrations there. CRAZY!!! Crazy fun that is! We had a ball. But there were problems with the trains that night… Throngs of people were out in the city, and at the Eiffel Tower…either way, we got stranded. We boarded a train that stopped at a certain point and wasn’t going any further, and everyone had to get out. We walked from wherever that was back to our hotel rooms and crashed. A great end to a great trip!

I had a fantastic day..and the memories always make me smile and long for that adventure again.  I will one day again. Here’s to my EuroTrip Crew (RB, EP, JH, JG, and GM)!

Creative Commons License
This work by Vernelle Noel is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Leave a Reply

