The MOOOOOOOON…..

Tonight/ today begins a little after midnight (late Saturday night). I went to see Avengers last night (Friday night). I know Tony Stark is fictional, but he makes me soooooooo proud to be at MIT.. LOL… Hulk and Stark were my favorite characters… After the movie I went back to school and worked until 6am Saturday morning… When I woke up I did the usual chores, laundry, etc… did some work, cooked, then ate…  I was supposed to go out with my friends tonight but fell asleep… I was still tired I think. My friend messaged me close to midnight to confirm whether I would be meeting them.. “Oops! I fell asleep” was my reply. After doing the time calculations I figured I wouldn’t be ready in time, but I just felt like getting out.. She also told me about the moon being extremely large tonight… I peeked outside my window but didn’t see anything… I decided I would jump on my bicycle with my camera and enjoy the night… Take it all in…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Beast of the blur.. I decide I would take a ride in the direction of Harvard Square…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

So, tonight was a great experience for me. I have to get much practice with night photography… and boy do I need a tripod!

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Sitting on my bicycle… holding my breath as I try to take still photos at Lafayette Square… yeesh!

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

What I love about these shots are how movement is captured… I love it!

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

I think the cops were just doing some crowd control or something on Mass Ave.

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Long line for a club…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

I didn’t know Harvard Square was this blurry! lol..

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

I love to see places at night…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Beautiful isn’t it?!

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

At the Harvard Square Metro.. Fire and ambulance were bringing someone out from the station.. Nothing serious though..

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Nicely lit street furniture…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

I continue to ride along and stop and hold my breath for photos… I definitely!!! need a tripod.

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

The firetruck passing on the left looks cool…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

“I see dead people….” Harvard Square is full of ghostly people who blur and fade away in photos…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Look at that! Motion captured at night.. I LOVE!

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

I stopped here and took numerous photos… trying to get this shot.. the moon, the clouds, the building, the light… It was a perfect photo op… but it was almost impossible to stay perfectly still. This is the best shot I got.. Don’t those clouds look beautiful?!..

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

After getting some fresh air, photos, quiet, and happiness.. I head back to my neighborhood…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

I literally tried to stay still for what felt like 30 seconds before the camera took this shot! I almost passed out and still the photo looks like crap.

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

I’m back in my neighborhood.. and trying to get this moon…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

I have now placed the camera on my bicycle seat and trying to stay still… ONE…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

TWO….

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

THREE…..

As soon as I get inside I buy a tripod for my camera…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

It’s now Sunday afternoon and I am heading to school… We have to laser cut the parts of our curved pavilion to assemble the entire thing tomorrow (Monday)…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Mik and Linlin cutting on the Epilog 60W… I will go on the Universal and continue cutting the main structure..

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Our cut sheets with pieces laid out on them…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel, architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,  architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Bru is on the Epilog 120W cutting the floor for the pavilion..

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel, architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,  architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

The pieces of our structure… cutting is gong nicely and the number of pieces cut continues to grow…. After I was finished cutting I went to my office to work on my other project… So much to do so little time..

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel, architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,  architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

Back at my desk… I cut these sheets last night into Saturday morning to be used in my New Textiles Final project…

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel, architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,  architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

PC ready, and food ready!

architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel, architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,  architect, artist, design & computation, document a day, illustrator, MIT, photo journal, photography, thinking insomniac, vernelle noel,

My cup of mauby… My loving brother gave me when I went to NY… And I cooked Chicken and vegetables in a red curry with coconut milk (I love Thai food).. and baked a macaroni pie.. Talk about meals from worlds apart! As long as I have food… I am happy!

I salute you for taking a few minutes to escape from your world into mine…

Have a great weekend!

Creative Commons License
This work by Vernelle Noel is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Comments
  1. manseh says:

    Vern, I love this shot!

Leave a Reply

