vernelle noel, thinking insomniac, mit, how to make, architecture, design, art, sketch, laser cutter

Engraved sketches... Assembly mode

Above is my assignment for my How to Make (Almost) Anything class. Our assignments are weekly, and this week our assignment was to “Make Something Big.” I designed and built something big that I needed and would have space for; a bookshelf to place on my chest of drawers. I engraved the following sketches:

  1. Arc de Triomphe, France
  2. Queens Royal College, Trinidad
  3. Mamallapuram, India
  4. NAPA, Trinidad
  5. In The End: Dance And Rejoice (Trinidad Carnival 2011)
  6. Abstract Architecture
vernelle noel, thinking insomniac, mit, how to make, architecture, design, art, sketch, laser cutter

Engraving of Arc de Triomphe Sketch lit from behind

vernelle noel, thinking insomniac, mit, how to make, architecture, design, art, sketch, laser cutter

Complete!

vernelle noel, thinking insomniac, mit, how to make, architecture, design, art, sketch, laser cutter

Engraving of NAPA, Trinidad

I encourage you to go here to read more.

Feel free to use the following:
1. PDF of Bookshelf>>

2. CADD File of Bookshelf >>

3. Videos of Laser engraving >>

4. More photos of Bookshelf >>

5. Link to my sketches >>

Creative Commons License
This work by Vernelle Noel is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.

Comments
  1. annie! says:

    how very cool is that?!?

  2. Roanne says:

    They are really working you up there, but I see the challenge is producing good work.

    When ever you’re in my neck of the woods – NJ, do give me a shout.

Leave a Reply

